Review of Illegal Music 3 by M.I

I’ve had Illegal Music 3 for a while now. I’m not really sure what made me not review the tape sooner but as they say, everything happens for a reason.In this case I’m not sure what reason but let’s go with that , cool?

M.I-1

Today’s weather has been quite unpleasant, I’m really late to work and traffic isn’t exactly nice to me either. So as I was going through my playlist I thought hey, let me remind myself what this tape is like. I know the cover says that you need to listen to the tracks in order but I’m not very good at taking instructions so  I started with The Box which is one of my fave records on this tape.

M.I-Abaga-–-Illegal-Music-3-Mixtape-Full-Album-Download

M.I’s message is simple. Don’t be afraid to experiment with life. You’re gonna win sometimes and it’s also very likely that you’re going to lose somewhere as well. Just live… “Just play the game ignore the scores… Win… Sometimes take the loss…” he goes on to say that you have to correct that loss. Lace up your socks and move on. You shouldn’t agree to be boxed by anyone, don’t let em tell you it’s impossible. Try… Just do you and be great.

Pryse (who is a rapper signed by Chocolate City) says the same thing starting off with she’s loyal to the game but she pledged to cut her own path and if she falls back she won’t be phased. She emphasizes M.I’s message, as she raps “F what we agreed upon, I’ll rap and I’ll sing and I’ll trap and I’ll do it all…”  It was my first time listening to her and knowing about her and soon you just might see a review of The PryseTag EP. She aroused my curiosity. I’m still waiting for a Kenyan rapper to remix this particular record. Somebody come forward please.

To be quite honest as I was listening to Illegal Music I felt like I was listening to a eulogy. It pissed me off a little that M.I was thinking of hanging his boxing gloves so that somebody else could come up and be just as great. I think it’s a little too soon. The world definitely deserves more of M.I’s dopeness. I do admire the fact that he’s asking more rappers to come out and speak (for) Hip Hop in whatever (language) way they feel comfortable. I will try as much as possible not to review track by track as I usually do because that would be hard for me to do. The production, mixing, mastering, samples, flow, gems, bars, everything was on point. Everything!

On the tape, M.I speaks on LIFE. Religion, loyalty, money, pride, the hustle. You name it. It’s all there in the ten tracks.

Black Bill Gates was the very first record I heard off this tape. I mean before I officially got the whole thing. I saw a lot of fuss online about it so I decided to see what it was about. Both rappers came through and represented for their respective countries. Khali just got on the radar of Nigerian Hip Hop fans and I’m excited about what this could mean for him.

If you’re looking for food for thought, a tape that will have you pondering on life while still being entertained as you rewind track by track, then IM3 got you good. I listen to this tape at least twice every day; morning and evening.

Don’t believe them when they say it’s impossible. Just try.

In order to be great you gotta prepare to fail greatly as well. It’s all about how you handle the failure.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

