New Music (Zim): “Waka Remix” || AyTee ft. DJ Simon Sayz

Last night I passed out on top of my bed, lights on and all. Woke up at 3 a.m. and before I fell back into this thing I love called sleep (2 hours later *sigh*), I went through all my social media channels. Bad habits, I know, but hey, it is because of spying on people late at night that I discovered “Waka” by Aytee, a Zimbabwean rapper and producer who is part of Mix Masterz Intl. Aytee actually gave me one of the beats for the first season of #UnKutTheCypher.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fthispreciseruby%2Fvideos%2F1749544238707031%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Waka gave me all the good vibes! I don’t know what I was expecting but definitely not this! However, it was so refreshing to hear this. Africa is moving forward… Together! “Waka” is definitely the track to play during all your house parties and is a banger at the club. I really loved the mix of Shona and English and though I didn’t know what exactly he was talking about for the most part, I loved how it made me feel. Groovy, 2 step kinda song.

As AyTee explains in this video, Waka calls out the fakes on verse one, verse 2 speaks on the women who go after people because of their money and on the final verse, he appreciates his blessings and the strides he’s made as a 23-year old. He’s done quite well for himself.

Check out the video to the original track. I don’t know about you but I’m feeling this. I see myself bumping to this over and over again.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

